Coffee Concert – Cello Connection

Silvester Horne Institute

Mon Jul 30 | 10.15am |

#Coffee Concert

With Soprano Natalie Clifton-Griffith

Cello Connection is a group of musicians from Shropshire and the surrounding counties, brought together by their love of the cello and its many possibilities. It was formed in order to perform at the Church Stretton Festival two years ago and its members have enjoyed playing together ever since.

The cello has a large range, both in pitch and in tone, making it suitable to play in a single instrument grouping such as today’s octet. Some say that it is the closest instrument to the human voice, making its sound naturally attractive to our ears.

This morning’s concert takes us around the world in thirty minutes, starting in Spain and ending in Brazil for Heitor Villa Lobos’s Bachianas Brasileiras No. 5, in which we are pleased to be joined by soprano Natalie Clifton-Griffith.

Cello Connection:

Jane Magee
Fiona RaIray
Nigel Hirst
Lisa Lyness
Jenni Duffell
Andrew Milledge
Chris Simpson
Jane AnneIe

Natalie Clifton-Griffith, soprano

Natalie was born in Cornwall and studied at the Birmingham Conservatoire gaining a First class Bachelor of Music degree. She also won the graduates prize and was later made a Member of the Birmingham Conservatoire.

Following a Post Graduate Diploma in Concert Singing at the Royal College of Music (studying voice with Elisabeth Robson) Natalie has spent her career in the domain of Early Music specialising in Bach and Handel (second prize in the first London Handel Festival Singing Competition).

Concert work includes Haydn and Mozart as well as Strauss and Villa Lobos and she has performed in venues worldwide with groups such as The English Concert, Tenebrae and Ex Cathedra.

Now based in Shrewsbury, Natalie is gaining a reputation for her teaching of Bel Canto technique to the next generation of singers and is also enjoying singing with London Voices in film and computer game soundtracks.

The Programme:

Bryan Kelly – Spanish Dances:
Maestoso, Andante, Allegro

Butterworth, arr Annette – A Shropshire Lad
Prokofiev – Gavotta from the Classical Symphony

Grieg, arr Birtel – Two Elegiac Melodies:
Hjertesår – The Wounded Heart
Våren – The Last Spring

Hérold, arr Annette – Clog dance
Villa Lobos – Bachianas Brasileiras No 5

Admission is free, with a retiring collection at the end of the concert.
Berry’s Coffee House will provide tea, coffee and home-made biscuits after the concert, with proceeds going to Mayfair.
The full programme is available as a PDF here