Coffee Concert – Claire Tocknell, Mark Tocknell & Richard Walker

Silvester Horne Institute

Sat Aug 4 | 10.15am |

#Coffee Concert

Claire Tocknell (viola), Mark Tocknell (clarinet) & Richard Walker (piano)

Mark Tocknell grew up in Edinburgh (where he began learning clarinet with John Macleod) but worked for many years as a physics teacher in Westminster. While living in London he performed in a variety of orchestras, ensembles and choirs, both school- and church-based. Nine months spent at the Othona Community in Dorset in 2009 gave him the opportunity to explore much of the classic repertoire for clarinet and piano with fellow community member and pianist Brenda Stephenson. Since moving to Church Stretton he has enjoyed opportunities to play chamber music and in local orchestras.

Claire Tocknell was first taught to play the violin by her father Cyril Heels and went on to study both violin and piano as a Junior Exhibitioner at the Royal Academy of Music. She was very active in music-making at Cambridge while reading Theology at Clare College and singing in Pembroke College chapel choir with future husband Mark, before completing her postgraduate performance studies at the Royal Academy of Music. Thereafter she taught violin in various London schools before spending five years as Director of Music at Durston House School. Since moving to Church Stretton she now teaches for the Shropshire Music Service, leads the Ludlow and the Shropshire Chamber Orchestras, and is responsible for the music at the Church Stretton Festival.

Richard Walker moved to Shropshire in 2005, having been Director of Music at Harrow School for the previous 20 years. He has been involved with the Arts Festival since 2005, and is currently organising the free morning concerts. He is Assistant Director of Music at St Chad’s Church, Shrewsbury, conductor of the Phoenix Singers of Shrewsbury, plays double bass in the Shrewsbury and Ludlow Orchestras and is involved locally in piano chamber music and accompanying, Richard studied music at Cambridge University, and his teaching career began in Edinburgh, followed by five years at the Leys School, Cambridge before his final destination at Harrow School.

The Programme:

Bruch – From Acht Stücke, Op 83:
No 2: Allegro con moto
No 3: Andante con moto
No 7: Allegro vivace, ma non troppo

Mozart – Trio in Eb major, K498 (Kegelstatt)

Admission is free, with a retiring collection at the end of the concert.
Berry’s Coffee House will provide tea, coffee and home-made biscuits after the concert, with proceeds going to Mayfair.
The full programme is available as a PDF here