Lee Jae Phang

Church Stretton School

Fri Aug 10 | 7.30pm |

Lee Jae Phang

Lee Jae Phang graduated from the Royal Northern College of Music (RNCM) in July 2017 and was awarded a Master of Music in Performance (MMus) with Distinction. He was also recently admitted as a Fellow of the Royal Schools of Music (FRSM) with Distinction.

Lee Jae has performed regularly in venues across the North of England, appearing in distinguished concert series and music festivals. These include the Leeds Lunchtime Chamber Music Series at the Leeds College of Music, and the Northern Aldborough Festival. Earlier this year, Lee Jae also performed a solo lunchtime recital for the Beethoven Piano Society of Europe (BPSE) at St. James’ Piccadilly in London to critical acclaim and will be returning to perform another recital as part of the BPSE’s Tippett/Beethoven Series in August 2018. Other performances in 2017/2018 include solo recitals at the Kulturzentrum in Langenfeld, Germany, two concerts at the Church Stretton Arts Festival in Shropshire and a return concerto appearance with the West Yorkshire Symphony Orchestra under the baton of conductor Davide Levi.

Originally from Malaysia, he was awarded a full scholarship to study at Wells Cathedral School in Somerset from September 2007 to July 2012. During his time there, he studied under John Byrne, a Professor of Piano at the Royal College of Music, and enjoyed numerous competition successes. In September 2012, he commenced his studies at the RNCM where he studied with Graham Scott, both as an undergraduate and postgraduate student, with equal success in competitions. The prizes he has won include the First Prize of the RNCM Mark Ray Recital Prize (formerly known as the Recital Prize) and the RNCM Helen Porthouse Paganini Prize with violinist Oliver Baily. In 2015, he won the RNCM Concerto Auditions. This led to a concerto appearance with the RNCM Chamber Orchestra under the baton of conductor Mark Heron in December that same year.

Since his concerto debut in Wells Cathedral under the baton of conductor Christopher Adey and the Wells Cathedral School Symphony Orchestra, Lee Jae has appeared as a soloist with several orchestras. These include the Burnley Orchestra and the Alicante University Symphonic Orchestra (as part of Music Fest Perugia, Italy).

Lee Jae has always been a great lover of chamber music, collaborating with other musicians whenever the opportunities arose. For four years, he led a piano trio and was part of a flute-violin-piano trio during his final year at college. Together with the latter, he commissioned a new work from Catalonian composer Laura Nadal Abellà, which received its public premiere at a Coffee Concert Series in Didsbury in July 2017. Lee Jae also performed Ligeti’s extremely challenging Trio for Violin, Horn and Piano with Pijus Jonušas (violin) and John Ryan (Principal Horn of the London Philharmonic Orchestra) in Budafest, last year’s Hungarian-themed chamber music Festival at the RNCM, to high acclaim.

Finally, Lee Jae is, along with 15 other people, a holder of the Guinness World Record for the largest number of people playing the same piano simultaneously.

The Programme:

Beethoven – Piano Sonata No. 10 in G Major, Op. 14 No. 2
Debussy – ‘Hommage à Rameau’ from ‘Images Book 1, L. 110’
Debussy – ‘Golliwogg’s Cakewalk’ from ‘Children’s Corner L. 113’
Tippett – Piano Sonata No. 3
Haydn – Piano Sonata in E-Flat Major, Hob. XVI/52
Chopin – Nocturne in B Major, Op. 62 No. 1
Chopin – Waltz No. 2 in A-Flat Major, Op. 34 No. 1 ‘Valse brillante’
Liszt – ‘Apres une Lecture de Dante: Fantasia quasi Sonata’ from ‘Années de pèlerinage (Deuxième année: Italie)’

Lee Jae has a Website

[Picture credits: Miguel Teixeira]